Skip to Content

About TEDX

TEDX Board and Advisors


Chairperson:  Elise Miller, MEd, Director, Collaborative on Health and the Environment, Founder and former Executive Director of the Institute for Children’s Environmental Health, Co-Founder of the Collaborative on Health and the Environment, and former Executive Director of the Jenifer Altman Foundation.

Vice Chairperson: Sharyle Patton, Director, Commonweal Health and Environment Program, Co-Director of the Commonweal Sustainable Futures Project, and Co-Chair of the International POPS Elimination Network (IPEN).

Secretary: Richard A. Liroff, PhD, Executive Director of the Investor Environmental Health Network and retired Senior Fellow, World Wildlife Fund.

Treasurer:  Daniel B. Magraw, Jr., JD, President Emeritus and Distinguished Scholar, Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL), member of the USTR’s Trade and Environment Policy Advisory Committee (TEPAC), Chair of the American Bar Association (ABA) Section of International Law’s Task Force on Magna Carta, frequent consultant to the United Nations, Director on the Board of Directors of Lightbridge Corporation, Instructor at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), and former Director of the International Environmental Law Office at the US EPA.

Director: Nicole Acevedo, PhD, Science Director, Department of Environment, Health and Safety, Beautycounter/Counter Brands LLC.

Director: David O. Norris, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Integrative Physiology, member of the Center for Neuroscience, University of Colorado, Boulder.


Jerry Heindel, PhD

Consultant in Environmental Health Sciences and NIH grant funding

Retired from NIEHS

Susan C. Nagel, PhD

Associate Professor

University of Missouri

Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health

Heather Patisaul, PhD

Associate Professor of Biology

North Carolina State University

Department of Biological Sciences

Frederica Perera, PhD, DrPH, MPH

Professor of Environmental Health Sciences

Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health

Director, Columbia Center for Children's Environmental Health


Laura Vandenberg, PhD

Assistant Professor and Graduate Program Director

University of Massachusetts Amherst, School of Public Health and Health Sciences


Frederick vom Saal, PhD

Curators' Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences

University of Missouri

Division of Biological Sciences


Tracey Woodruff, PhD, MPH


UCSF School of Medicine

Department of Ob/Gyn, Reproductive Sciences


R. Thomas Zoeller, PhD

Professor of Biology

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Biology Department